What do I do if my HubSpot account is not letting me add students seats?

This article will walk you through assigning the 20 seats you receive for free from the Education Partner program and how to request more if needed.

If you are assigning your students work in Sales Enterprise or Service Enterprise, you may run into the issue of not being able to assign them "seats" beyond the 20 you've been allotted.

How and why would I assign seats?

Sales Seats allow users to create playbooks, call transcriptions, and quotes-based workflows. 

Service Seats allow users to work on tickets. 

As an Education Partner, you are automatically given 20 seats in each of the Sales and Service Enterprise Hubs. However, if you require that more than 20 students at a time work in either of these Hubs, you will have to contact us to request for more.

You can assign seats like so: 

  • In your HubSpot account, click the settings icon settings in the main navigation bar.
  • In the left sidebar menu, navigate to Users & Teams.
  • In the upper right, click Create user.
  • In the right pane, enter the email address of your new user and click Next.
  • To assign one of your Sales Hub or Service Hub  seats: 
    • Click the Sales or Service tab.
    • Click to toggle the Sales Access or Service Access switch on, then click to toggle on

What do I do I need more than 20 seats?

If you've already allocated all of the Sales Hub or Service Hub seats you have, contact educationpartners@hubspot.com to explain your use case and why you need more seats, and we'll be happy to help! 

How do I remove seats?

If your students have left your course and you expect new students to work in your same portal, you can assign or remove existing Sales Hub or Service Hub seats.

  • In your HubSpot account, click the settings icon settings in the main navigation bar.
  • In the left sidebar menu, navigate to Users & Teams.
  • In the upper right, click Manage Paid Users.
  • You'll see the number of purchased and assigned seats in the bottom right. To assign a seat to or remove access for a user, select or clear the checkbox next to the user.
  • Click Save.

To remove users with a seat from your account, you must first remove any Sales Hub and/or Service Hub access they have. Removing a user's Sales Hub or Service Hub  seat does not delete the seat. Your HubSpot account will still have the unused seat for assignment.